A Little Side Project

Hey Guys!

I know in my last blog post I mentioned that my next project was going to be a Harry Potter C2C pillow, but I’ve been suffering from some brutal headaches the past few days. I have started the pillow and already have fourteen rows done, but it’s one of those projects that require extreme concentration and focus and unfortunately headaches aren’t conducive to that. I’ve still wanted to craft though, so I picked up a little side project that was super quick and really didn’t require much concentration at all. It was actually relaxing and helped with my headache!

So without further ado…

Harry Potter scarf key chains!

I also made NAU and Cardinals ones since I do live in AZ… (I think some Red Sox and Patriots ones are up next!) 😉

 

These are super easy and quick to  make! The only thing that I’m going to change when I make them to sell is to add single crochet around the sides so they look more even and finished. But that’s not a hard change at all. I think for my first attempt and nursing a headache, they didn’t turn out too terribly.

So if you’re interested in giving them a shot yourself… here’s what you need:

  • 3/4 inch D-rings (I found these in the ‘Notions’ aisle at my local craft store).
  • Key-rings, I went with the smaller size, 25mm,that way it wouldn’t look too garish with the smaller D-ring.
  • Scrap yarn, anything will do. If you choose a bulky yarn, just expect it to be wider and longer, so you may want to adjust the pattern to compensate for that.
  • Crochet hook. I used a H hook, 5.0mm, because I didn’t want my stitches to be too big. You can do the same or you can look at your yarn and see what the recommended hook is and make your best judgement. Don’t stress, you’ll be able to tell if you’re using too big of a hook once you start working the pattern and since it works up super quickly, if you have to take it out and start over, it’s not a big deal.
  • Oh and of course you’ll need the pattern! She even includes a video of how to make it. The hardest part for me at first was carrying over the yarn and getting these funky looking stripes. The video is at a fast pace so I was getting a little frustrated and had to keep rewinding it and ended up watching it a bunch of times. By the end, I was really sick of the Harry Potter music that was in the video! But, I persevered. The trick is to bring it to the front and carry it with you and work it into the stitches.

 

So, I hope you enjoyed my cute little scarf key chains. They really don’t take more than 10-15 minutes to make and the color combinations are endless. These will be available on my store once it’s open and customization will be available so you can always carry a little scarf around of your favorite series, school, or sports team.

 

Happy hooking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

